countries and good ones may not be available. It has become a common practice for Scorers to use a gong or siren. Some of these are more satisfactory than the horn. The answer in the third question is more accurate than that of last year. It covers certain situations in which the Scorers have authority to signal the Officials when the ball is in play (also see Item 4 in first column of Manual for Basketball Scorers). The new question also gives the Officials some authority for blowing the ball dead when they must consult the Scorers to find the reason for the blowing of the horn while the ball was not dead. There is no change in connection with which signal kills the ball. The Scorer’s horn does not cause the ball to be dead. 7-2. This section has been rewritten but there is no change in meaning. 1941-42 Wording "The ball is out of bounds when it touches: a player who is out of bounds; or any other per- son, the floor or any object on or outside a boundary; or the supports or back of the back- board." Last Year's Wording "The ball is out of bounds when any part of it touches the boundary line, the floor outside the boundary line, any object on or outside the boundary line, any balcony, the supports or back of the backboard, or when it is touched by a player who is out of bounds. If the ball strikes the edge of the backboard or rolls along the top of the backboard without touching the supports of the backboard, and then falls into ; the playing court, it is in play." The last question covers the case where the ball strikes the edge of the backboard and also when it touches the ceiling. In both cases, the ball remains in play. Note that the last paragraph of last year's section has been omitted. In past years this statement was out of place. The question of who causes the ball to go out of bounds belongs in Rule 10 and it now appears there. 7-14, 15, 16 and 18. All of these have been rewritten to make them consistent with other sections of the rules. The only one that involves a change is Section 15. Last Year's Wording 1941-42 Wording "Section 15. A double foul takes place when "Section 15. A double foul is a situation fouls are called simultaneously upon both arising when two opponents foul each other teams." simultaneously." There has always been a great deal of discussion with respect to what constitutes a double foul. Under the old wording, a double foul might have included several fouls by different players on the two teams. Under the new wording a double foul involves only two players and it is theoretically possible to have five double fouls happening at the same time. Play: Al fouls BI while BI is in the act of shooting. At the same time B2 fouls A2. Is this a double foul and is only one free throw awarded to each team? Ruling: This is not a double foul and each foul carries its own penalty so that BI is awarded two free throws if his goal was missed and Al one free throw. The ball is tossed at center after the last throw. 8-8. There is a slight change in (2) of the first note. Last Year's Wording "when not in possession of a player, the ball touches the floor or an Official beyond the 1941-42 Wording "when not in possession of a player, the ball touches anything beyond the line." line." In actual practice this change in wording will not make any difference. The change was made in the interest of consistency. Under the old wording the ball was not technically in the front court when it was touched (not possessed) by a teammate of the player who advanced it from the back court. Such touching is always followed by the ball touching the floor or going into control of some player. Play: Al has control in his back court for 9 seconds and passes the ball across the division line. The pass is touched by A2 who is in the front court but rebounds to the back court. Has the ball been in the front court and is this a violation? Ruling: As thé rule was worded last year, the ball was not in the front court but the ten-second count continued and it was a violation for failure to advance the ball within ten seconds. Under this year's rule, the ball has been advanced to the front court in time but it is an illegal return. In either case, the penalty is loss of ball to the opponent but