there is a slight difference in the spot of enforcement and there is also the possibility that the illegally returned ball will be recovered by B so that no penalty will be enforced. Play: A\ is in possession in his back court and passes the ball in the back court parallel with the division line. BI stands in A's front court and reaches through the plane of the division line to touch the pass which continues on to A2 who is in his back court. Has the ball been in the front court? Ruling: Under last year's wording, the ball was not in the front court and since the ball was not out of control of Team A, the count continued. Under this year's wording the ball is in the front court when it touches B and a new count starts when A2 secures control. 8-10. The second sentence of the second paragraph has been reworded. Last Year's Wording "When such a foul occurs at the end of the first or third quarter of a game played in quar- 1941-42 Wording "When such a foul occurs at the end of the first or third quarter of a game played in quar- ters, or during the intermission following the ters, or when a foul occurs during the intermis- first or third quarter, the free throw shall be sion following the first or third quarter, the free attempted at the beginning of the next quarter, throw shall be attempted at the beginning of etc." the next quarter, etc." It is obvious that the wording of previous years was inaccurate-since there could not be "such a foul’ during an intermission. 9-1. The answer has been reworded. Last year's wording was ''No; if the mistake is discovered be- fore play is resumed, etc.'' This wording led to the mistaken notion that the free throw goal counted for the opponents, if the mistake was not discovered until later. As a matter of fact, such a throw never counts for the opponents. The new wording makes this clear. Play: Al is awarded a free throw and, through error, he throws the free throw into his opponent's basket. The error is discovered at the end of the period and is called to the attention of the Official. Ruling: The point should count for the player who made the successful free throw. This applies if discovery is made and verified any time before the final score is announced. 9-3. The last part of the second paragraph has been reworded. There is no change in meaning. In past years there was some misunderstanding relative to whether the two necessary points required to end the game might be accumulated in two or more of the extra periods following the first. The new ruling makes it clear that it is not necessary to secure both of these points in one of the extra periods. Play: A game ends with the score 30-30 and the first extra period ends in a tie 33-33. In the second extra period, Al scores only one point so that the second extra period ends A34-B33. In the first minute of the third extra period, Team A scores one point on a free throw. Is the game ended immediately? Ruling: Yes. 10-1. This has been rewritten (see Bulletin III) but procedure is the same. There is a slight change in the note. Last Year's Wording 1941-42 Wording "When the margin out of bounds free from obstructions is less than three feet, no player of either team shall be within three feet of the player who is putting the ball in play. On such courts a fine broken line should be drawn in the court three feet from the boundary line." "When the unobstructed space outside the boundary lines is less than three feet, a narrow broken line should be drawn in the court parallel with and three feet inside the boundary lines. When such three-foot restraining line is used, it shall be treated the same as a boundary line, etc." Play: AI has the ball out of bounds at the side. BI takes a position inside the three-foot restrain- ing line but B2 and B3 take positions more than three feet from Al but in the area between the restraining line and the boundary line. Ruling: These players are considered the same as if they were out of bounds. The Referee has authority to call a technical foul or if a technical foul is not called, and the throw-in touches one of these players while in such position, the ball is again awarded to Al. 10-2. The question under this section, in slightly different form, appeared last year under 10-1. There is no change in meaning. SAMPLE TEST QUESTIONS |. When a free throw is waived by A, if the court has two division lines, the ball is thrown in from out of bounds. i *} (3. Halfway between the two lines.) (Mid court)